Get in “Lawrence of Arabia” Mode

Image

Pictured is an example of a page by Larry Hama taken from “John Carter, Warlord of Mars #28.”

My quest to find sources of comic genius has been rather difficult considering I started my assignment well behind my fellow bloggers and they have tainted the waters with every search result three pages into “how to draw comics” on Google. Although, I believe I’ve hit a particular gem in this resource. In a comic culture blog titled The Beat, a recent post made on August 27th of this year by a common poster Heidi MacDonald, pulled information from a Facebook post, made only a few days prior, from Larry Hama. Hama is most noted for his work in writing the G.I. Joe series for Marvel Comics. Hama’s post is simply 10 rules to follow for drawing a composed comic book page, repeat, a common book page. My favorite idea of his is rule 4 which states, “If you use an odd angle in the shot, there has to be a reason for it.” The logic is incredibly sound and resonates with me; everything has to have purpose. The rules are not intended to be the 10 commandments of comic creation, but there usually are many pages in a comic book and being that there is 10 rules it might as well be the law handed to Moses.

As for a second rare source, in an effort to not duplicate information that has already been posted for the class, I wanted to find a video. After looking at my classmate’s blogs, I realized that a video, even if it isn’t bathing in a wealth of information, that has a little tidbit of advice that I could see, I thoroughly understood it. This video, posted on Video Jug, whose mantra is “Get good at life”, offers two key ideas to proceed to making comics with. The video is of cartoonist Mik Brown, who has done work for the BBC, Guardian, and Ford, and reminds us that you need to a) know how to draw your primary character from every possible angle, and b) make a rough sketch of your comic to get an idea of what angles and expressions your going to need out of your protagonist.

I hope these two sources help with everyone’s comic endeavors and I am excited to see what we come up with.

Signing off

-Will

This entry was posted in Blog #3. Resources for Comic Creators. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

